Skip to main content
District HomeStaff PortalStudent Mobile CampusGoogle Classroom
Brooklin High School
Innovate Inspire Inquire

Durham District School Board Officially Welcomes 2018-2022 Board of Trustees

At its Inaugural Meeting, the Durham District School Board officially welcomed the 2018-2022 Board of Trustees.

"On behalf of our Durham District School Board students, staff, parents/guardians and school communities, I would like to welcome our 2018-2022 Board of Trustees. Together, we will work to inspire leadership. Our efforts will serve to increase student achievement, ensure equity, and engage with our communities while promoting well-being and leveraging digital tools for student success," said Director of Education, Lisa Millar.

The 2018-2022 Durham District School Board of Trustees include:

Patrice Barnes – Ajax Trustee;

Michael Barrett - Oshawa Trustee;

Chris Braney - Pickering Trustee; 

Paul Crawford - Pickering Trustee; 

Donna Edwards – Ajax Trustee;

Darlene Forbes - Oshawa Trustee;

Niki Lundquist - Whitby Trustee;

Carolyn Morton – Brock, Scugog, and Uxbridge Trustee;

Ashley Noble - Oshawa Trustee;

Scott Templeton - Whitby Trustee; and

Christine Thatcher - Whitby Trustee

More information and trustee photos may be viewed here.

Board Internal Elections Held

  • Michael Barrett, Trustee for Oshawa, was voted Chair of the Durham District School Board
  • Carolyn Morton, Trustee for Brock, Scugog and Uxbridge, was voted Vice Chair of the Board  
  • Darlene Forbes, Trustee for Oshawa, was voted Vice Chair of Standing Committee
  • Niki Lundquist, Trustee for Whitby, was voted Chair of the Education Finance Committee

The Board of Trustees hold internal elections annually each December.

A complete list of Board Committees and Trustee Liaisons will be posted on the DDSB's website,

"We welcome both new and returning Trustees. We look forward to the utilization of their passion and commitment to public education to continue to Ignite Learning. There will be challenges in public education and we will, along with staff, lead through these challenges to reveal opportunities" said re-elected Board Chair and Oshawa Trustee Michael Barrett.

School Trustees are responsible for the operation of the public school system and represent seven of Durham Region's municipalities. The Board also has three Student Trustees. Public School Trustees are the critical link between communities and school Boards. They ensure public schools meet the diverse needs of students in their communities. Together, Trustees are responsible to their communities for the quality of education provided in local schools within an approved financial framework.